Elementary Science Specialist Program

All fourth, fifth, and sixth graders in the Irvine Unified School District receive 120 minutes of hands-on science instruction each week. An additional 60 minutes of science instruction is provided by each child's classroom teacher. This program is unique among Orange County school districts!

This comprehensive science program includes a balanced curriculum including Earth, Life, and Physical Science as well as Investigation and Experimentation skills.  Additionally, all students receive instruction and practice in the Scientific Method and students are required to complete a Science Fair project.

The IUSD Elementary Science Specialist Program is funded by the Donald Bren Foundation and reflects the priority that the Irvine Community and Board of Education place on elementary science education.  This partnership ensures that the IUSD Elementary Science Specialist Program is one of the best in the state of California and the nation.

In 1987 the Elementary Science Specialist Program received the Ohaus Award for Innovation in Elementary Science Teaching from the National Science Teachers Association.

About the People

Curriculum Coordinator: Lisa Gordon

Please click on the name of the Science Specialist for biographical information.

Science Specialist Home School 2nd School 3rd School
Vicky Anthony Westpark    
Ann Bennett Turtle Rock    
Brian Cady Brywood    
Danielle De Frank Woodbury    
Helen de la Maza --- Culverdale  
Darcy Angel Meadow Park    
Dan Grubb Deerfield Springbrook  
Alison Garza Greentree    
Joie Mack Oak Creek    
Stacie Grooters Culverdale    
Shannon Hayes --- Turtle Rock College Park
Allison Rolfe Canyon View    
Lauren Le Blanc Eastshore    
Katy Leishman Alderwood    
Jessica Lingenfelter Portola Spring Stonegate  
Karen Lund Northwood    
Kristopher Hull University Park    
Grace Murphy Springbrook Brywood  
Charles Nelson Bonita Canyon University Park  
Bettina Pierce Plaza Vista Vista Verde  
Everett Yee Stone Creek Northwood  
Samantha Scott Stonegate    
Megan Seager --- Alderwood  
Annette Shoemaker Santiago Hills    
Sumer Dakak --- Woodbury  
Robin Van Vorhis Cypress Village    
Kimberly Cashin Vista Verde    
Marcela Troup College Park    

Links to our favorite science sites......